Moms, want to preserve family memories? You can with We Craft for You.

It is such a privelege to be a stay at home mom.  One of the fun things moms get to do is to plan and host special occasions for family, whether it’s birthday parties, graduations, showers, weddings, etc. 

In Colorado Springs there are so many wonderful businesses and boutiques to help you plan for that occasion and make it as special as the person you are planning it for.  There are boutiques and shops all over town that specialize in party supplies, catering, decorating, etc. 

Once the party has been planned and is in progress, many pictures and videos of the event are usually taken.  They are then usually uploaded to a computer never to be seen again!  The question is, ‘how can these pictures and videos be preserved in a format that will actually get used and seen’?  The answer is a service provided by Cinde of We Craft For You.

Cinde, please tell us about yourself.

I was born and raised in New York.  I studied at the University of Delaware where I graduated with a degree in Communications/Spanish and met my husband.  After graduating from college, I worked in advertising and decided to leave the corporate world after the birth of my son ( he is now three).  I loved being home with my son but still wanted more so I decided to start my own business.

Tell us about your business.

I launched my main business, We Craft For You, LLC in 2008 when I decided to turn my hobby/passion into a business.  My most popular service is the video/photo montage and I have done countless montages for various events from baby’s first birthday, weddings, bridal showers, 90th birthdays, memorials and more.

From the amazing feedback I received from my customers on their videos, I came up with the idea for my new business, A to Z With You and MeA to Z With You and Me provides personalized educational videos for kids.  We create custom, personalized educational videos by using pictures.  These videos have gotten rave reviews thus far as there is nothing out there like it!

What has been your biggest challenge so far?

My biggest challenge so far is time management.  Staying up to date on current orders while trying to launch a new business all while home with my three year old is not an easy task.  It’s definitely rewarding though, and that is what makes it worthwhile.  Balancing time for work and time with my son is not easy as I feel I want to give 100% to both and clearly, that is not possible.

What has come the easiest for you?

I would have to say that the creative factor has been the easiest.  The ideas just keep flowing and everyday I think of new ways to enhance the business.  When you are passionate about something, it makes everything so much easier.

Where do you advertise…or do you?

As we have just launched, we are just starting to get the word out.  We haven’t done any advertising yet, but are definitely looking to do reviews/giveaways on popular mom blogs as well as online advertising on well known mom sites.  Social media is huge as well and we have a Facebook page and Twitter account to start to gain some exposure.

What would you like to suggest to a mom who is interested in starting her own business?

Take your time!  Rome wasn’t built in a day.  It’s okay to put things off to focus on your number one priority which is raising your children.  Know that if you are starting your own business, you are likely passionate about what you are doing and everything will happen when it’s supposed to and right for you!

Many thanks to Cinde for sharing her businesses and sage advice to moms.  Be sure to visit her website to see the wonderful services she provides both at We Craft for You and A to Z With You and Me.  Find We Craft for You on Facebook and A to Z With You and Me on Facebook.

Julianne Alvarez-Wish is a military wife, mother, business owner, professional writer, blogger and legislative advocate. She is the Director of Communications for Our Milk Money, the Colorado State Leader for the National Association for Moms in Business and the owner of Buy By Mom and Buy By Mom Blog. She is the Colorado Springs Stay-at-Home Mom Examiner for Examiner.com. She also blogs at A Wishful Thought. Her passion, purpose and goal is to help parents work from home so they can be home with their children.

Leave a Reply

