Moms, shop for gifts, and for yourself, without ever leaving your home

Stay at Home Moms are some of the busiest people.  Here in Colorado Springs that is certainly the case.  The Springs is well known for its bevy of activities year round and having some of the most fit people in the country.  Moms are always on the go, taking care of running errands, taking the kids to activities, to and from school, etc. 

When it comes time for moms in Colorado Springs to shop for gifts, or for themselves, time is at a premium.  They need a way to shop more efficiently for gifts.  There is a way for moms to do that without ever leaving their homes.  Shop with Tracy Bennett of Stella & Dot.

Tracy, tell us about yourself.

I am a mother to a very busy toddler who is the light of my life.  I am married to a wonderful, supportive husband who is patient and understanding of all things!  After being laid off from a great job in Advertising of over eight years, I loved staying home with our son, but we needed my income to pay off our mountain of debt.  i didn’t have any sales experience, but when I heard our VP of Training speak at a fun, casual Opportunity Event, I said, “Wow, what could it hurt?  I can do this!”  Plus, I HAD to have that jewelry.

Now, as I grow my team and help other women start their own successful business, I’m making amazing friends and seeing my income grow!  Suddenly, my ‘fun job’ is starting to pay more than my ‘real job’ did.  I couldn’t imagine my life any different now.

Tell us about your business.

I am an Independent Stylist for Stella & Dot, a modern fashion-forward jewelry company that has been in Lucky, The New York Times, The Today Show and InStyle.  I have trunk shows – our term for a home party – in women’s homes, at wine bars or at a restaurant and show the jewelry with no glass cases.  Everyone can enjoy their friends, shop and have a great time while sipping on a glass of wine.  Casual, no pressure fun with girl friends.

What has been your biggest challenge so far?

My biggest challenge is balancing my life and career.  I sometimes forget to eat lunch because I get busy playing superheroes with my son or send out emails to customers and my team!

What has come the easiest for you?

The easy part has been adding to my team and getting customers to buy.  Everyone wants a piece of this, because it is so fun, easy and the jewelry is just amazing!

Where do you advertise…or do you?

I advertise on blogs, party plan websites and on Facebook.

What would you like to suggest to a mom who is interested in starting her own business?

I would say do your research.  Don’t be afraid to ask questions.  If you feel good about it, love what you are going to do, then I say go for it.  You never know how it might change your life for the better.  I never knew and I am glad I took the leap of faith.

Many thanks to Tracy Bennett of Stella & Dot.  Be sure to visit her website, her Facebook page and follow her on Twitter.

Julianne Alvarez-Wish is a military wife, mother, business owner, professional writer, blogger and legislative advocate. She is the Director of Communications for Our Milk Money, the Colorado State Leader for the National Association for Moms in Business and the owner of Buy By Mom and Buy By Mom Blog. She is the Colorado Springs Stay-at-Home Mom Examiner for Examiner.com. She also blogs at A Wishful Thought. Her passion, purpose and goal is to help parents work from home so they can be home with their children.

Leave a Reply

