Want to send cards without going to the store?

Colorado Springs is a great place to raise a family.  Kids love living in the Springs because there is so much to do all year long…both indoors and outdoors.  Participating in all of these activities can keep moms very, very busy. 

Searching for just the right greeting card can take a lot of time and is quite the challenge when shopping with the children.  There are many times that moms want to send a photo card which also involves going to the store…to order them and again to pick them up.  It is very time consuming.

Moms, there is a solution.  There is a way to send cards, with pictures embedded if you’d like, from the comfort of your home and for less than the cost a store bought greeting card!

That solution is SendPerfectCards.com and Karen Kanefsky.

Karen, please tell us about yourself.

I was born and raised in Baltimore, MD.  I am a first-generation American.  I went to the University of South Florida and graduated Summa Cum Laude with a degree in Business Management and Marketing.  I am married to a wonderful man, Mark, and have two children.  I have a son, Daniel, who is 17 and a daughter, Nikki, who is 16.  I spent over 17 years in marketing for a medium sized uniform manufacturing company where I spent the last ten years as VP of Marketing.  I am a stay at home mom that runs her business very successfully from home.  I have been with Send Out Cards for over four years now and my dedication and persistence have really paid off.  I am proud to have advanced to an Executive Ranking.  I know what it takes…commitment, education, passion, dedication, belief and action.  I am consistently in the top 50 income earners for my company.

Tell us about your business.

My business has led me on an incredible journey.  I began using Send Out Cards as a customer to help me enrich relationships with my clients and to create loyalty and referrals.  It worked and became an exciting, unique tool that I enjoyed sharing with other businesses to increase their business in a personal way.  I mean…how many people get physical cards in the REAL mail to show that they are cared about or to celebrate their accomplishments or lives?  So, I joined the local Chamber of Commerce specifically to share this tool and the feedback and excitement and financial growth was personally so rewarding that after one and a half years I began to work Send Out Cards as a full time business and teach others to do the same.

In a nutshell, Send Out Cards is an internet based system taht allows you to create your own original cards or to choose from over 14,000 stock cards, type a message (in your own handwriting and with your own signature if you prefer), upload pictures and logos (if you like), hit send and we print them, stuff them in the envelope, put your first class stamp and send it on its way.  you can even include gift cards from Starbucks, Target, AMEX and many others or one of many gifts to send along.  It is a simple, fast and thoughtful way of touching people’s lives in a positive manner.  A full contact manager is included as well as ‘photoshop’ capabilities within the cards.  Businesses also enjoy the campaigns capabilities.  There are a number of programs to become a card sender…from a ‘pay as you go’ on my retail site to business accounts with large discounts and functions.

What has been your biggest challenge so far?

Send Out Cards makes it simple to enable me to show this incredible system to someone over the internet while they are on the phone with me.  In fact, they will even send out a real card to someone they care about during a short demo.  The challenge was getting people to walk through the system with me.  I suppose it is like having a retail shop and getting people there without being pushy or salesy.  Once they are there, they can see the value, but how do you get them to the door?

What has come the easiest to you?

The easiest part of Send Out Cards is sharing the stories of how some of these cards have impacted people’s lives and businesses in such positive ways.  For instance, I had a caterer tell me that the first card she ever sent was a “thinking of you” card to someone who had used her catering often but she had not heard from them in a while.  Her card simply said that she was hoping all was well.  He called her immediately after receiving it and told her that he had decided to mix up the catering a bit and somehow had forgotten about her along the way.  He thanked her for the kind card and booked a $7,000.00 lunch.

Here is another story/email that I received from a gentleman, George, in CT.  He sent a card he created with a rainbow on it.  He had pulled over in his car and took the picture of the rainbow because he found it incredible that he literally followed it from his home to the funeral service for his friend:

Karen, you probably don’t want to hear this, but if I never make a dime from SOC I’ll die a happy man.  You remember the card I told you about?  The one with the rainbow?  Well, I saw the widow tonight at a community event for the first time since the funeral.  And she just about burst into tears when she saw me.  Several people at the funeral had told her about the rainbow – but she was inside the funeral home, and never saw it.  The card I sent her, with the image of the rainbow, was the first time she saw it and it confirmed that it really happened.  She also said that her husband, who had been facing near certain death while awaiting a liver transplant, had told her on several occasions that he would give her a signal after he died that all was ok.  She believes that the rainbow, which I captured with my camera, and included in the card I sent, was the signal from her husband.  And, the proof of the rainbow, as evidenced in the card is giving her immense comfort.  The heartfelt message I sent on the Friday afternoon is something that would not have been possible – and the idea of sending would never have entered my mind – without SOC.  I’ve been told, on many occasions, the coincidences are winks from God.  God did not just wink on that Friday afternoon.  He smiled on all of us.

Where do you advertise…or do you?

I don’t really advertise.  I use personal networking the most.  I am a huge proponent of organizations like the Chambers where I try to refer and promote others.  Giving is the best form of complimenting and self-fulfillment.  Somehow, you end up always getting back.  Also, the cards themselves that I send are usually just heartfelt cards such as nice to meet you, thank you, happy birthday, holiday, etc., but when they are received people understand the emotional response one gets from getting a personal envelope in the mail that isn’t and advertisement.  They get it and want to share this as well.  Send Out Cards is a network markeing company.  Many of the people I introduce it to become distributors as well and of course, then my business grows very quickly in places I never dreamed of!  This is the true beauty of this busines model.

What would you like to suggest to a mom who is interested in starting her own business?

Here is my advice for anyone looking to start a home business.  First of all…be sure your choice of business is something that you love!  Then, treat it as a business, NOT a hobby.  Learn as much as you can from those who aspire to be like in your business and stay connected with everything going on within your company.  Become the ‘go to’ person and a leader.  Schedule blocks of time with no disruptions to work your business (no personal calls, facebooking, emailing or socializing).  Take the action steps that will bring you customers and business during these times.  Paperwork and emails should be done at other times such as evenings.  I have a keychain I give out to my team which states very simply what leads one to success:

Belief + Passion + Action = Success

Many thanks to Karen Kanefsky of Send Out Cards.  Visit her website and set up a demo of what SOC can do for you.

Julianne Alvarez-Wish is a military wife, mother, business owner, professional writer, blogger and legislative advocate. She is the Director of Communications for Our Milk Money, the Colorado State Leader for the National Association for Moms in Business and the owner of Buy By Mom and Buy By Mom Blog. She is the Colorado Springs Stay-at-Home Mom Examiner for Examiner.com. She also blogs at A Wishful Thought. Her passion, purpose and goal is to help parents work from home so they can be home with their children.

Leave a Reply

