Want to be Healthier? You need Janet Summerfelt of Reliv

Moms like living in Colorado Springs in part because of all that it has to offer year round.  There are indoor and outdoor activities for every season.  Moms work to keep their families healthy and active.

While moms do all they can to keep their families active and healthy, occasionally they do need help especially in the area of nutrition and nutritional supplements.  But, there are so many out there.  How is one supposed to know what supplements are needed or what supplements are worth the money?  One of the best ways is to work with someone you trust – someone who knows all about supplements and whose passion is helping people lead healthier and more active lives.

One such person is Janet Summerfelt.

Janet, tell us about yourself.

I am 54 years old, a wife, and mother of a teenage son.  I always worked from my home in administrative positions, even when my son was little.  Back then, I justified my absence by believing that our standard of living was important if we were going to provide our son with lots of opportunities to develop skills and talents.  As time went on, those talents did emerge (mostly musical), and that left me with a different challenge.  His activities required more of my time and  money.  The solution to that dilemma was not finding another job, but starting a business of my own from home.

Tell us about your business.

After careful consideration about what kind of business fit my personality, skill set and field of interest, I became a distributor for Reliv International.  I wanted a business that offered flexibility, a solid foundation, ease of operation, an immediate return on investment and the opportunity for solid residual income.  Reliv offered all of that structured around their amazing products.  I have always been interested in Health and Nutrition, but the Reliv products work much deeper and go much farther than “an apple a day”.  Today, I am pain free from arthritis, have endless energy and my husband and son are off all allergy medications.  In my business, I have the pleasure of sharing that hope and seeing those types of results in my customer base.  When someone’s health turns around, their life turns around.  To help people return to active lifestyles and enjoy every day is a big paycheck in my emotional bank account.

What has been your biggest challenge so far?

My biggest challenge has been…ME.  Starting a home business can be a daunting task.  It is easy to let negative self talk create doubt in your mind with regard to success.  My favorite definition of “good attitude” is approaching each challenge with the mindset that the outcome will be positive.  This has helped me overcome fears of talking with new people, learning new internet skills and getting out of my comfort zone.  Tapping into my potential helped me expand my buisness into several other states and made me realize that I’ve barely scratched the surface of where my business can go.  It’s also been difficult to distance myself from naysayers.  Sometimes, even our friends can dash our dreams, so I wouldn’t let others influence the choices that felt right to me.  After all…whose life is it anyway?

What has come the easiest for you?

Utilizing the endless resources this company has to offer.  Everyone in Reliv works together even though we each have our own businesses.  Between local support, distributors across the US and around the world, and the tools provided by the corporation, I can work with clients and prospects with confidence.  Best of all, this business can be done anywhere in the US and in 14 other countries.  The opportunities are endless.

Where do you advertise…or do you?

I advertise on OurMilkMoney.com.  I also have two websites – one for Health and Wellness which is www.janetsummerfelt.com and one for the business opportunity which is www.thehomebusinessforeveryone.com.  I also participate in health fairs and community events that attract people looking for alternatives to dangerous drugs and prescriptions.

What would you like to suggest to a mom who is interested in starting her own business?

First, I would congratulate her on committing to make a positive change in her life that will not only benefit her family, but will offer many opportunites for personal growth.

I would then direct her to my website, www.thehomebusinessforeveryone.com because it discusses important items to consider when starting a home based business.  I would tell her to get involved with something she is passionate about.  A home business requires discipline and perseverance.  If you can’t get excited about your business, you won’t get off the couch.  So research a field that has always intriqued you, even if you don’t know much about it.  As humans, we can learn and grow every day of our lives, so if there is something you’ve wanted to explore, then go for it.

I would tell her to make a list of all the reasons why she should start a business, and then post that list in a place where she spends a lot of time as a reminder that every day brings new opportunities to develop and grow.  We bury our fears by “doing”.  I’ve seen people emerge from bankruptcy to become 6 figure income earners.  I’ve seen single moms go from depression and dependency to affluence and freedom.  Anyone can change…just a little or their entire life.

I would encourage her to let the kids help since they too have a stake in the outcome.  Let them seal envelopes or affix stamps.  It will help them establish a sense of pride and teach them entrepreneurial skills.

Finally, I would tell her to stop “thinking about it” and take action.  Don’t be like the majority of people who spend their lives saying “what if I had?”…rather than “so glad I did”.  If you keep doing tomorrow what you are doing today, where will it take you in 5 years?  As Jim Rohn said, “it’s not the blowing of the winds, but the set of the sail that determines our future.”

Start it,build it, nurture it, and enjoy it.

Julianne Alvarez-Wish is a military wife, mother, business owner, professional writer, blogger and legislative advocate. She is the Director of Communications for Our Milk Money, the Colorado State Leader for the National Association for Moms in Business and the owner of Buy By Mom and Buy By Mom Blog. She is the Colorado Springs Stay-at-Home Mom Examiner for Examiner.com. She also blogs at A Wishful Thought. Her passion, purpose and goal is to help parents work from home so they can be home with their children.

Leave a Reply

