Soon it will be time for swimming-Moms will need Sweet Somethings by Maeve Libby

Even though it’s quite cold outside right now in Colorado Springs and moms are enjoying winter activities with their children, it’s not too soon to start thinking about spring and summer and water sports with the children.  And even though it’s too early for outdoor water activities in the Springs, there are plenty of private and public indoor swimming pools for moms and their children to take advantage of. 

The problem for moms in the Springs this time of year is two fold: where do they find a swim suit and will it be age appropriate?

That’s where Sweet Somethings by Maeve Libby comes in!

Maeve, tell us about yourself.

I have been married for 23 years.  I have 3 boys and 1 girl.  We homeschooled for 15 years but I found I had to go to work which made homeschooling very difficult.  This is one of the reasons I chose to work from home.

Tell us about your business.

I had a hard time finding swim suits for my daughter that were modest.  She was also figure skating at that time (3 years ago), so I started making her skating outfits and swim suits.  I also started selling them.

What has been your biggest challenge so far?

Juggling time.  I still have a part time job and homeschool my daughter.  I have to make myself focus on the business when at home.  There are a lot of distractions.

What has come the easiest for you?

Designing the clothes with my daughter.  That’s been the most fun.

Where do you advertise…or do you?

I advertise in the local newspaper as well as online with a few directories.  I have swapped links with some Mompack members.

What would you like to suggest to a mom who is interested in starting her own business?

Believe in your dream.  Stay at it, be patient.  It takes a long time for a business to take off.

Many thanks to Maeve Libby of Sweet Somethings.  Remember to visit her online store when you are looking for clothes and swim suits for your daughters.

Julianne Alvarez-Wish is a military wife, mother, business owner, professional writer, blogger and legislative advocate. She is the Director of Communications for Our Milk Money, the Colorado State Leader for the National Association for Moms in Business and the owner of Buy By Mom and Buy By Mom Blog. She is the Colorado Springs Stay-at-Home Mom Examiner for Examiner.com. She also blogs at A Wishful Thought. Her passion, purpose and goal is to help parents work from home so they can be home with their children.

Leave a Reply

