Meet Amy Moore of Mommy Bag Marketing

The economy in Colorado Springs has been as affected as the rest of the nation.  As Stay-at-Home moms, we work hard to stretch each dollar as far as possible.  When discounts are available, Stay-at-Home moms take maximum advantage of them.  When deciding whether or not to buy something, being able to try a sample of it first makes the decision easier.  Moms have to worry about the household budget and making sure to have enough money for the bills and to feed and clothe the family.  Discount coupons and samples have become a norm in the shopping process for many Stay-at-Home moms in the Springs. 

On the other hand, if you are a Stay-at-Home mom who also works from home, you know that people are reluctant to try new products without sampling them first.  You also know that you need to stretch each advertising dollar as far as possible.  Providing samples and discounts is a great way to get people to buy from you so you can make some money from home and contribute to the family income in these challenging economic times.

There is one company that will satisfiy both problems!  That company is Mommy Bag Marketing represented here by Amy Moore who is the National Sales Director.

Amy, tell us about yourself.

I am a stay at home and work at home mom of a two year old little guy and a four year old precious girl.  My background is in IT, but I was laid off during my second maternity leave.  After a great year of playing with my beautiful children, I realized I needed to get back into the working world.  But my husband and I didn’t want to give up all the perks of me staying home.  So, here I am making the best of both worlds!

My husband is a pilot so we travel as a family quite a bit.  We try to take the children wherever we go, and we’re so blessed by watching them experience new places.  One of my favorite activities is cooking with my daughter.  I am also active in our church and can often be found teaching the toddler or pre-school class.

Tell us about your business.

I work with Mommy Bag Marketing, Inc. as the National Sales Director.  I began small here with just a few advertisers and a few small events.  By coupling discounts from businesses in the area with samples from national businesses and coupons from area attractions, I have been able to grow the Mommy Bag Marketing brand.  When moms get our bags full of goodies, they are excited to open them up with their children.  We’re bringing joy and Christian resources – one bag at a time.

I sell bags locally and nationally and support our coordinators in other states.  In six months time, this business has been incorporated in Colorado, grown to 11 different metro areas, and we’ve handed out tens of thousdands bags “of joy”.  I now employ four other moms and one college student locally and I’m looking forward to the future!  We’re expanding to offering Christian Coupon Books full of discounts for local businesses.  We are very excited to be providing them to the thousands of ladies attending the Women of Joy conferences throughout the spring and fall of the year.

What has been your biggest challenge so far?

Work/house balance.  I’m able to carve out time for the children and our family.  What I struggle with is keeping my work from taking over our whole house!  That’s a daily struggle.  Some days I win.  More often, I lose.  But I vow to keep up the good fight!

What has come the easiest for you?

Bringing in other women and helping them succeed.  I feel the biggest benefit of my job is being able to help others stay home with their children, and I enjoy every minute I can support them.

Where do you advertise…or do you?

Sure – even though we ARE advertising, we definitely advertise.  Social media is big as well as website catering to small businesses and Christian moms.

What would you like to suggest to a mom who is interested in starting her own business?

Do it – and then contact us to help you market!  But, in all seriousness, I would remind her to keep her priorities in check.  Your children are more important than your business!  Building a business is hard work and it definitely takes time.  however, all that time you spend building your business is wasted if all it does is build a barrier between you and your kids.

Many thanks to Amy Moore for sharing her story, her challenges and her advice to moms.  Be sure to visit her website!

Julianne Alvarez-Wish is a military wife, mother, business owner, professional writer, blogger and legislative advocate. She is the Director of Communications for Our Milk Money, the Colorado State Leader for the National Association for Moms in Business and the owner of Buy By Mom and Buy By Mom Blog. She is the Colorado Springs Stay-at-Home Mom Examiner for Examiner.com. She also blogs at A Wishful Thought. Her passion, purpose and goal is to help parents work from home so they can be home with their children

Leave a Reply

