A Mother Remembers September 11th (9/11)

Like most Americans, I vividly remember where I was on 9/11/01 and who I was with.
That day changed me forever.  My definition of what it meant to be a mother changed forever on that day as well.  Of course I wanted to protect my children prior to that day and I wanted the best for them.  9/11 did not change that…it changed how I go about doing that.
It has reinforced what is important and what is not.  It has made me a stronger and better mother.
I work hard and contribute my time and energy when and where I can to help make the country what it could be and should be for my children.  As my children live in these historically significant and defining times I ensure they are well educated about what happened, what is happening and where we go from here.
Part of that of course, is pausing on the anniversary of the attack to remember the fallen, the heroes of the day, and the heroes of the present who continue to fight for our way of life.  I am grateful to them and for them.
That day awakened something within me…and within many across our great country.  I am not complacent, I am involved.  I know my children will be better for it and because of it.
Many do not want to be reminded of that day…at the same time they do not want to forget it either.  I will not forget 9/11 nor its fallen and its heroes.  We must not forget.
Gone but not forgotten.  God Bless America.
Julianne Alvarez-Wish
Julianne Alvarez-Wish is a military wife, mother, business owner, professional writer, blogger and legislative advocate. She is the Director of Communications for Our Milk Money, the Colorado State Leader for the National Association for Moms in Business and the owner of Buy By Mom and Buy By Mom Blog. She is the Colorado Springs Stay-at-Home Mom Examiner for Examiner.com. She also blogs at A Wishful Thought.  Her passion, purpose and goal is to help parents work from home so they can be home with their children.
Leave a Reply

